The Marcus King Band offers a fresh dose of a familiar sound

via Times Free Press

The 1970s saw an emergence of mixing the blues, Southern rock, soul and funk into a natural and impressive sound. Bands like Lynyrd Skynyrd and The Marshall Tucker Band flirted with this sound at times, while groups like The Allman Brothers Band embraced the sound and perfected it.

Over the years, many bands have attempted to pick up the torch and keep it going, and groups like Widespread Panic and the Tedeschi Trucks Band were successful. However, many found it difficult to set themselves apart from imitating their influences and never made their own signature mark on this sound.

So far, The Marcus King Band is not having that problem.

Based out of Greenville, South Carolina, 20-year-old Marcus King leads his young band with his soulful vocals and soaring guitar chops. It doesn't hurt that he has put together a six-piece band of very talented musicians. And it definitely doesn't hurt that the group caught the ear of fellow Southern rock musician Warren Haynes early on, releasing their debut album, Soul Insight, on his label Evil Teen Records. In 2016, Haynes continued to take the band under his wing as he produced their brand-new self-titled album, which was just released Oct. 7. If their powerful single Ain't Nothin' Wrong with That is any indication, the future seems bright for this young band. They have already been named to a few upcoming festivals for the spring and summer, but before that, they will be making their return to the Revelry Room at the Chattanooga Choo Choo on Friday, Jan. 6. This is a great opportunity to see this band up close before they catapult to the next level.

And the setting seems only natural.


New Music Playlist:
Thespian Espionage by The Marcus King Band
These Words by The Lemon Twigs
Rican Beach by Hurray For The Riff Raff
Blow Me Away by Steep Canyon Rangers
Hideaway by Randy Steele
Baby Boy by Childish Gambino
Follow the Leader by Foxygen
Run The Night by Lera Lynn
On Hold by The xx
Shine by Mondo Cozmo
Loose Ends by Jagwar Ma
Foolin' by Andrew Combs
Ladies Don't Play Guitar by Tennis
Time For Love by Mayer Hawthorne
Never Really Mine by Liz Longley
Right on Time by Tedeschi Trucks Band